Mo or No?: Ryan Ramirez

All season long, I’ve assumed that Ryan Ramirez on So You Think You Can Dance is Mormon.  Then I realized I hadn’t really analyzed my reasons for my assumption. So I thought I’d post about it and then throw it out there — Ryan: Mo or No?  What say you?

Evidences in favor…

  • She just kind of seems like one.
  • Her mom is always wearing Mormony outfits.
  • She admitted last week on the show that she’s never been in love.  Not that Mormons don’t fall in love, but who is a devout young Mormon woman going to fall in love with when she’s spent the past 3-5 years in LA’s professional dance scene?
  • Sometimes she has kind of a vague smile on her face.  I’ve noticed that we Mormons smile vaguely from time to time when we’re uncomfortable but aren’t quite sure how to handle a given situation in a nice way.
  • She’s a big-time overachiever: she graduated high school with a 4.0 GPA.  Mormons are known for over-achieving.
  • She didn’t get her driver’s license until she was 18 or 19.  This isn’t necessarily a real reason, but I didn’t get my driver’s license until I was 18, and I’m a Mormon, so she must be too, right?  😉

My Mo Rating: 72%.

How about you?  Enter your percentage in the comments below.  In the meantime, I will search around the internet for the answer!

UPDATE: I believe I have uncovered the answer, thanks to a fairly diligent bit of Facebook stalking.  Check here when you’re ready.

ABOUT MO OR NO?: I play Mo or No? all the time with my husband and a couple of friends.  Whenever we pass a candidate in the street or at the store, we give each other a percentage based on a cursory glance–and then search for additional evidences (such as capped sleeves, long shorts, CTR rings, extra undershirts, etc.) to verify our hunch.  Online, the game works the same.   Enjoy!

About Katie L

Thirtysomething wife, mother, writer, runner, believer, and lover of good food and bad movies.

Posted on July 8, 2011, in Mo or No, News and Current Events, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m going to give her an 83% Mormon rating.

  2. I must confess, this makes me feel a bit like a creep, snooping around the Web to track down info on a 19-year-old female …

    I did find Ms. Ramirez’s Facebook page (her wall can be seen by any Facebook user) and two Twitter pages … and nothing, at least in terms of this topic. This woman loves to dance! That’s what she writes about, and she says almost nothing about her life out side of dance. She does say she loves her family, she enjoys inspiring people and she doesn’t write using vulgar language (well, she did use the term “kickass” once), but that’s the best I could find.

    She really does seem focused on dance. I saw nothing to suggest that she’s a party person or a churchgoer or anything else, for that matter — really, nothing except that she likes to dance (and she’s quite good at it).

    If she were a small-town Utahn, yeah, I’d say she’s probably LDS. I know there are plenty of Mormons in California, too, but I don’t see anything to suggest that’s what she is. She does seem to present herself as a wholesome person, however, so it wouldn’t surprise me to find out she comes from an evangelical or practicing Catholic family. Mo? I’d say 7 percent.

  3. Oh, she did go to a Catholic high school where 30 percent of the students are non-Catholic. I wouldn’t say that precludes her from being Mo; I’ve known Mormons who have sent their kids to Catholic schools because they thought their kids would be taught good values there, but doing so certainly isn’t the norm.

  4. I didn;t get my driver’s license until I was almost 22…

  5. Here is the answer, BTW…

Leave a Reply

