Listography Week 5: Trippin’

So I’m a little bit behind, but I skipped week 4 for two good reasons.  A)–I was busy last week; 2)–I didn’t love the topic, which was “list leaders who inspire you.”  Call me cynical, but there aren’t many leaders who inspire me.  I think that most leaders have a tendency to abuse their power and protect it at all costs, and that makes me wary.

That’s why I was much more excited to think about this week’s far cheerier topic: list the places you’d like to visit!

To set the mood, please enjoy this marvelous song as you read…

1. Greece. Greece has been at the very, very top of my list of places to see for a long time.  I’m just dying to set foot in the Acropolis and explore the birthplace of Western theatre.  Plus, I love Greek food.  I was so close during my mission to Bulgaria it almost killed me — in hindsight, maybe I shoulda snuck across the border one P-day or something.  😉

2. Prince Edward Island, Canada. I used to have dreams that I lived on Prince Edward Island.  How delightful to inhabit the old haunts of Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe (never mind that they’re fictitious characters — they’ve always been real to me).  I mean, just look at this. Oh, to enjoy just the tiniest glass of raspberry cordial and listen to the sound of the wind in the firs across the brook.  I’d think I’d died and gone to heaven.

3. Iceland. I’m not sure why, but I’ve always wanted to see Iceland.  Something about it seems so stunning and sparse.  Perhaps it has something to do with the quote from that marvelous film of all films, D2: The Mighty Ducks: “Greenland is covered with ice, but Iceland is very nice!”  Of course, you’d have to visit Greenland, too — just to be sure.

4. Sydney, Australia. About a year ago I read an article in Forbes that named Sydney one of the 10 best cities in the world to live.  Ever since then, I’ve wanted to go.  And not just for a visit — for a year or two.  I have several clients in Australia and once even did telesales to prospects down there, and everyone is so laid-back and friendly.  Besides, doesn’t the outback seem exotic?  Did you see Australia? And what if my plane takes off in Los Angeles and we hit turbulence and crash on The Island???  It could happen!

5. New York City. I’ve been to New York a couple of times, but I always want to go back.   Broadway makes it an ever-changing experience.  Whenever Lanny and I go, we plan everything around shows, and try to hit one or two a day.  When we’re not starving college students anymore, I hope we can make an annual trip.  It’s not a place I’d like to live, though — at least not forever.  WAY too crowded.

6. Jerusalem. It’s a little scary to think about traveling to this part of the world, but I’d love to walk where Jesus walked.  I think it would be a transformative experience.

7. Mt. Kilimanjaro. True story: back when Lanny and I were dating, we went to ward prayer at our singles’ ward (still one of the best wards I’ve ever been in).  And during every ward prayer there was a ward question, so that we could get to know one another better.  On one particular occasion they asked, “name one thing you want to do before you die.”  Without consulting each other, Lanny and I came up with the same answer: climb Mt. Kilimanjaro. That’s when we knew it was true love. 😉  I guess we better do it then, eh?

8. Stonehenge. I (almost) minored in anthropology during college (I ended up just one course short).  During my World Archaeology class, we talked about Stonehenge.  I had no idea it was such a mystery!  To this day, they have no idea how it was built.  I’d love to see it with my very own eyes.

9. Austria. A good friend of mine, who is extremely well-traveled, once told me that Austria was her favorite place on earth.  Since then, it’s been on my list.  Plus, I just love The Sound of Music…even though I recently discovered it isn’t exactly a true story, they didn’t really escape the Nazis and Rolf through the mountains, and Maria Von Trap was kind of a B.  😦   Still, Austria, I’m dying to see you!

10. India. Okay, so I know that India is a huge country and you can’t just put the whole thing on a list, kind of like you can Greece, Iceland, and Austria.  What’s worse, I totally admit that all I know about India I learned from Eat, Pray, Love, A Fine Balance, and Slumdog Millionaire.  But I totally want to go there.  Is it too cliche to say that I’d like to see the Taj Mahal and leave it at that?  Because I think seeing the Taj Mahal would be spectacular.

So that’s my list.  What’s yours?  Where would you love to visit?

About Katie L

Thirtysomething wife, mother, writer, runner, believer, and lover of good food and bad movies.

Posted on February 2, 2011, in Listography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. First, I’m disappointed that Austria didn’t beat out the caveman building blocks. Stonehenge was a disappointing tourist merry-go-round.
    Second, everything in the Sound of Music is true. Ev.Er.Y.Thing.
    Third, I love you.

  2. Mmmmm…. good list. The only problem is you got me thinking about traveling and now I’m itching to go somewhere…

  3. Great list!

    Here’s mine:

    1. Istanbul
    2. Athens
    3. London
    4. Paris
    5. Rome, Venice, Milan
    6. New York City
    7. Alaska
    8. Brazil
    9. New Zealand
    10. Japan

    P.S. Of course I’d always go back to the motherland (Bulgaria), as well!

  4. totally disappointed that more european sites weren’t listed. also, thailand. i thought everyone wanted to go to thailand.

  5. Gennie, that is a tragic thing to hear about Stonehenge. Maybe because you aren’t a wise and learned anthropology near-minor like me you didn’t fully appreciate it? 😉

    But I don’t know that Stonehenge is above Austria on my list. I didn’t really place them in order of preference, more in order of when I thought of them. Except that Greece is definitely #1.

    P.S. I love you back.

    Mindy, maybe we should travel to somewhere exotic, like Canada, while our husbands are away!

    Tony, it looks like BOTH of us should have crossed a couple of borders while we were over there! Awesome list. I want to get to Alaska, Italy and New Zealand one day, too.

    Hilary, I wouldn’t turn down a ticket to Thailand, but for some reason it’s not someplace I’m dying to visit. Maybe I have something against super peaceful, meditative Buddhists. 😉

  6. When I was a lad, we house-sat in Alaska for my grandparents while they served a mission on Prince Edward Island.

Leave a Reply

